BJP Wins Second Term With 270+ Seats, PM Modi Thanks Voters

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is set to become the first incumbent returning to power after serving a full term.

The BJP registered an emphatic win in Uttar Pradesh today and looks set to cross the 270 mark. The majority mark in the 403-member legislative assembly is 202.

The ruling party is currently winning or leading in 274 seats, while the Samajwadi Party, whose leader Akhilesh Yadav attracted huge crowds at his campaign rallies, is trailing behind with leads in 124 seats.

BJP Wins Second Term With 270+ Seats, PM Modi Thanks Voters

Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed Adityanath’s feat and suggested that the victory in Uttar Pradesh will pave the wave for the BJP’s win in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Lauding BJP workers for ensuring an early Holi by making the party victorious in four states, Modi said its vote share has increased in Manipur, Uttar Pradesh and Goa even though it was in power in the states. The party has also retained power in Uttarkhand.

This is the first time since 1985 that a ruling party has returned to power in Uttar Pradesh.

The UP polls are being seen are an indicator of the national mood ahead of the 2024 general elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.